Administrative Council Minutes: August 2011

MOBAC Administrative Council Meeting

August 12, 2011

MCFL, Prunedale Branch Library

Action Minutes


Peggy Mayfield (HCL), Janet Bombard (HML), Georg Romero (CAB), Jayanti Addleman (MCO), Lisa Maddalena (PGPL), Carol Heitzig (WAT), Stephanie Tetter (MPC), Eleanor Uhlinger (NPS), Kim Bui-Burton (MPL), Peter Liu (MIIS)


Cathy Andrews (MCFL), Jean Chapin (HML), Dana Young (GAV)  and Donna Truong (MOBAC)

Proxy: Jayanti Addleman (MCO) for Teresa Landers (SCZ)


The August 12, 2011 meeting was held at the Prunedale branch of Monterey County Free Libraries and chaired by Janet Bombard.


1.         Agenda:  Agenda approved as distributed.

2.         Minutes:  June 10, 2011 minutes approved as distributed.


Abstain: Bui-Burton, Tetter

3.         Administrative Business

A.        PLP Update

PLP Executive Board met late July and passed the budget with zero percent CLSA funding. There will be no second-level reference service and no subsidy for databases, but delivery service remained a top priority and fully funded for the fiscal year 11/12. PLP will form a database task force to evaluate and recommend databases since our current contract with Gale ends on 6/30/11. MOBAC needs one representative on this task force by October 31.

B.        Website Rollout

Romero showed the Council the new MOBAC website. Each committee will have its own account, and subcommittee members will demo and train each committee.  The oversight responsibility will be shared between the Reference and Technology committees (Heather Geddes and Deborah Stephens). The Council approved/accepted the redesigned website and it will be live later this month (Uhlinger/Tetter)

C.   By-Laws

The Council reviewed the By-Laws draft which was revised by Uhlinger. This will be on the next agenda for approval.

D.    Worldcat/Calcat Alternative Task Force.

Mayfield reported that the group has not met over the summer but will have a meeting later today. Members of the group are: Peggy Mayfield, Frank Gravier, Catherine Webb, Jan Chapin, Dody Anderson, Rebecca Bergeon and Donna Truong.


Next MOBAC Council meeting: All-day retreat with committee members at Scotts Valley branch, October 14, 2011 from 9 am to 4 pm.

Scroll to Top